Book Review – The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

The Black FlamingoThe Black Flamingo by Dean Atta
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Do I belong here? Am I what’s wrong here?
The Black Flamingo follows a British Greek Cypriot/Jamaican boy from youth to his first year at Uni. The book, written in prose and including poetry written by the main character, chronicles his path towards his identity, sexuality, and gender expression; finally becoming the on-stage persona, The Black Flamingo. The book was easily read in a single sitting and clips at a quick pace. This book is a must for fans of Kinky Boots, RuPaul’s Drag Race, and/or the forthcoming movie Everybody’s Talking About Jamie. Lyrics and quotes from all three came to mind while reading this book…
Listen up at your own freedom calling, Calling you to a day where you’re shining

View all my reviews

Book Review – Camp by Lev A.C. Rosen

CampCamp by Lev A.C. Rosen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book is a charming book filled with LGBTQ+ representation that takes place at a summer camp for LGBTQ+ youth. The main character, Randy, has worked over the school year to transform to Del, in the hopes of attracting another camper, in a different cabin, far different from his friends in the drama cabin. This book touches on themes of identity and how far one will go to attract a crush.

View all my reviews