Book Review – The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

The Black FlamingoThe Black Flamingo by Dean Atta
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Do I belong here? Am I what’s wrong here?
The Black Flamingo follows a British Greek Cypriot/Jamaican boy from youth to his first year at Uni. The book, written in prose and including poetry written by the main character, chronicles his path towards his identity, sexuality, and gender expression; finally becoming the on-stage persona, The Black Flamingo. The book was easily read in a single sitting and clips at a quick pace. This book is a must for fans of Kinky Boots, RuPaul’s Drag Race, and/or the forthcoming movie Everybody’s Talking About Jamie. Lyrics and quotes from all three came to mind while reading this book…
Listen up at your own freedom calling, Calling you to a day where you’re shining

View all my reviews

Published by

Trevor A.

Social Studies Teacher / Librarian, Educational Technology Specialist, M.Ed Candidate Educational Technology (CSULB)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s